• Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

Florian Ledoux © 2013 - 2019 - All rights reserved -  Forbidden Copy

"There are images that might impress you with their technical mastery, and then there are images that make you feel something. This photograph floored me. It is especially poignant given the climate crisis our world is facing right now."

Jarrad Seng, filmmaker, and Jury Skypixel/DJI.

About Florian

  • 1st Prize Aerial Photography (video) HIPA 2019 Dubai
  • Drone Photographer of the Year 2018 SIPA
  • Grand Prize Drone photography 2017
  • 1st Prize Wildlife The Nature Conservancy 2018
  • 1st Prize Drone Video Animals 2018
  • 1st Prize Landscape Arctic Biodiversity 2018
  • 3rd Prize Wildlife Arctic Biodiversity 2018
  • 3rd prize Drone Photography 2017
  • Highly Honored Nature's Best Photography 2018

Photography has always been my way of expression; it gives me a different perspective on the world, a new way to observe my surroundings and especially the means to capture moments of life to share with others. I started photography when I was 12 years old as a simple pleasure while traveling with my family. I was far to imagine that I will find in it my life power.

As a self-taught, I developed this passion until it became strong enough to become photo reporter in the French military Navy. In parallel, I started my own project by working on Greenland reportages. There is no doubt that the beauty of nature, the search for isolated and wild places in the Arctic, led me to photography.

Later my new project took me closer to the Arctic Wildlife, it was so intense that I had this desire to become a wildlife photographer to spend more time close to the different species.

Since, my work has been published in magazines like National Geographic, Time US, Géo France / Spain, Oceanographic UK, National Geographic Traveler, as well as in the international daily press.

My engagement to bring new and meaningful images is also recognized by conservation organism such as the International Union for the    Conservation of Nature.

Witness, Document, Protect the fragile Arctic

From West Greenland, I have sailed 6 000km over the course of eight weeks to Nunavut to explore and the document the Arctic Wildlife on Devon Island, Bylot Island, Baffin Island, Somerset Island, and the large Lancaster Sound, with a purpose to witness, document and protect.

In the same time I was there, On the 14th of August 2017, the Government of Canada and Nunavut agreed to establish the National Marine Conservation Area, the largest protected area in Canada called Tallurutiup Imanga. But the target of protecting 10 percent by 2020 still remains far. This was a great achievement but in 2016 only 4.7% of the Arctic’s marine areas were protected.

Polar Bears are facing a range of threats that are impacting their future population status. They are among the first refugees of climate change. The most striking observation during my reportage was the obvious lack of pack ice. According to the analysis carried out by the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN), with who I work, there is a real potential for a great reduction of the Polar Bear population if sea-ice loss continues over the long-term, which is forecasted by climate models and other studies. Reduced populations, poorer body condition, and changes in distribution and behavior are now apparent.

The pinnacle of my reportage expedition was undoubtedly my close encounters with these majestic yet gentle animals. For me, there is no better feeling than being close to those magnificent mammals, sharing a space with them. I will always remember that moment I saw my first polar bear, I cried during the three hours we stayed close to them. I discovered it swimming and by the time I left my binoculars to announce it to our captain, I was already crying.

When I find myself in the remote Arctic, co-existing in harmony with the wildlife that calls it home, I know that this is where everything makes total sense. I know it because I feel it deep within myself.  It is a deep vibe that consumes my body and soul in its entirety. At this moment, the urge to create an image that I would remember for the rest of my life with a strong message to protect it comes naturally to me.

Those moments are invaluable to me, something is happening within me.  It’s what I live for. When I photograph, I’m somewhere else. This is, I guess, what constitutes as passion, my passion to serve the conservation of the Arctic Wildlife.

I believe in and aspire to, bring a new perspective of capturing wildlife we already know well from traditional photography. I believe these images allow us to observe and document their behaviors from a new angle and approach, revealing the animals in their entirety as well as in a wider habitat and landscape, in a way not before possible, a new way of learning about the white northern part of our planet. It is more than time to act and I want my photo to help conservation to create more Marine Conservation Area.

• Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

Florian Ledoux © 2013 - 2019 - Toutes reproductions même partielles interdites

"Il y a des images qui pourraient vous impressionner par leur maîtrise technique, et d'autres images qui vous font ressentir quelque chose. Cette photographie m'a émue. Elle est particulièrement poignante avec la situation climatique à laquelle notre monde est confronté en ce moment."

Jarrad Seng, cinéaste et Jury Skypixel / DJI.

À propos de Florian

  • 1er Prix Aerial Photography (video) HIPA 2019 Dubaï
  • Drone Photographer of the Year 2018 SIPA
  • Grand Prix Drone photography 2017
  • 1erPrix Wildlife The Nature Conservancy 2018
  • 1er Prix Drone Video Animals 2018
  • 1er Prix Landscape Arctic Biodiversity 2018
  • 3ème Prix Wildlife Arctic  2018
  • 3ème prix Drone Photography 2017
  • Highly Honored au Nature's Best Photography 2018

Depuis tout jeune, le goût de l’aventure l’a toujours poussé à la recherche de lieux où la nature est reine, pure et vierge, où les couleurs de la terre ne sont jamais les mêmes, où les hommes ont une histoire, où les rencontres forgent l’esprit. A 12 ans lorsque qu’il débute la photographie, Florian était loin d’imaginer qu’il y trouverait son moteur de vie.

Autodidacte, il développe cette passion jusqu’à acquérir assez d’expérience pour devenir photographe reporteur dans la Marine National Française. En parallèle, il commence ses propres projets personnels de photographie en travaillant sur des reportages au Groenland. Il ne fait aucun doute que la beauté de la nature, la recherche de lieux isolés et sauvages dans l’Arctique, l’ont conduit à la photographie.

Plus tard, un nouveau projet l’a rapproché de la faune Arctique. Ainsi il sût définitivement qu’il souhaitait consacrer ses compétences et son travail à la nature et la vie animale sauvage de l’Arctique, et passer plus de temps près des différentes espèces.

Aujourd’hui son engagement à créer des images nouvelles et significatives est également reconnu par des organismes de conservation tels que l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature.

Observer, Témoigner,
pour Protéger l'Arctique

Durant l’été 2017, j’effectue un reportage animalier au Nunavut, à l’occasion d’une expédition de 6 000 km durant deux mois du Groenland au Nord Canada. De ces régions très reculées du monde, je reviens avec un fonds d’images animalier original, nouveau.

À la même periode que notre expédition, le 14 août 2017, le gouvernement du Canada et du Nunavut ont convenu d’établir une aire Marine Nationale Protégée, la plus grande aire protégée du Canada appelée Tallurutiup Imanga. Mais l’objectif de protection de 10% d’ici 2020 reste encore loin. Ce fut une grande réussite, mais en 2016, seulement 4,7% des zones marines de l’Arctique étaient protégées.

Les ours blancs font face à une série de menaces qui ont un impact sur leur futur statut de population. Ils sont parmi les premiers réfugiés du changement climatique. L’observation la plus frappante lors de mon reportage était le manque évident de banquise.

Selon l’analyse réalisée par l’Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN), avec qui je travaille, il existe un réel potentiel de réduction importante de la population d’ours blancs si la perte de glace se poursuit à long terme, qui est prévu par les modèles climatiques et d’autres études. Des populations réduites, une condition corporelle moins bonne et des changements dans la distribution et le comportement sont maintenant apparents.

Le moment le plus intense de l’expédition a sans aucun doute été mes rencontres intimes avec ces animaux majestueux, l’ours polaire. Pour moi, il n’y a pas de meilleur sentiment que d’être proche de ces magnifiques mammifères, partageant un espace avec eux. Je me souviendrai toujours du moment où j’ai vu mon premier ours polaire, j’ai pleuré pendant les trois heures que nous avons passées près d’eux. Je l’ai découvert en train de nager et au moment où j’ai laissé mes jumelles pour l’annoncer à notre capitaine, je pleurais déjà.

Quand je me trouve dans l’Arctique lointain, coexistant en harmonie avec la faune, je sais que c’est là que tout a un sens. Je le sais parce que je le sens profondément en moi. C’est une vibration profonde qui consume mon corps et mon âme dans son intégralité. A ce moment, le besoin de créer une image dont je me souviendrais le reste de ma vie avec un message fort pour protéger cette région, me vient alors naturellement.

Ces moments sont précieux pour moi, quelque chose se passe en moi. C’est pour ça que je vis. Quand je photographie, je suis ailleurs. C’est, je suppose, la passion, ma passion pour servir la conservation de la faune arctique.

Je crois et aspire à apporter une nouvelle perspective sur la faune que nous connaissons déjà bien de la photographie traditionnelle. Je crois que ces images nous permettent d’observer et de documenter leurs comportements sous une approche et un angle nouveaux, en révélant les animaux dans leur globalité ainsi que dans un habitat et un paysage plus larges, d’une manière qui n’a jamais été possible avant. Il est plus que temps d’agir, je veux que mes photo aide la conservation à créer d’avantage d’aires marines de conservation.